Our Leaders

The Rev. Dr. Brent Was, St. Francis by the Sea Rector

Fr. Brent comes to us from the Episcopal Church of the Resurrection in Eugene, Oregon where he had served since 2011.  After serving in the Marine Corps., Brent earned a Master of Divinity from Harvard and a Doctor of Ministry from the Episcopal Divinity School in Cambridge.  He has great interest in agriculture and social justice and lives in Brooksville with his wife Windy and their daughters Hannah Maeve (13) and Brigid (10).

The Rev. Carlton and Lorna Russell
A church organist since 1965, Lorna served at Trinity Episcopal Church, Wrentham, Massachusetts, from 1972-2005. A graduate of Wheaton College and Harvard University, she taught high school French for 34 years. Lorna also plays the bass viola da gamba in The Somerset Consort with Carlton (harpsichord) and her sister, Diana Brookes Brown (flute). She is president of The Sandy Point Water Company and serves on the Stockton Springs Parks Committee.

Carlton is Professor of Music and College Organist, Emeritus at Wheaton College, Norton, Massachusetts. A graduate of Amherst College, Princeton University, and Episcopal Divinity School, he was ordained an Episcopal priest in 1985. For over 40 years, Dr. Russell played recitals on historic organs in the Penobscot region. He is a past dean of the Bangor Chapter of the American Guild of Organists and a director of the St. John’s Organ Society, Bangor. Several of his sacred choral compositions have been published, primarily by St. James Music Press.

The Vestry

The Vestry is a committee of nine parishioners. The group works closely with the Rector to manage the affairs of the parish.  They act as a board of directors, with the Rector as the chairperson. Members generally serve for three years. The Vestry has three main responsibilities:

1) Care of the parish finances

2) Care of buildings and grounds

3) Filling parish leadership positions

The Vestry is responsible, with the guidance from a search (Discernment) committee, to call a new rector if needed. They are also responsible for filling other positions in the parish, thus ensuring that appropriate programs, policies, duties and committees have been developed and are followed. The Senior Warden is often referred to as the Rector’s warden and the Junior Warden is known as the People’s Warden.

Milissa LaLonde, Senior Warden (Vestry Term ends: 2021) Katie MacLeod, Junior Warden (Term ends: 2020)

Kevin Hunt, Treasurer
Sarah Everdell (Term ends: 2022)
Bill Gould (Term ends: 2022)
Prudy Heilner (Term ends: 2021)
Ellie Neuhauser (Vestry Term ends: 2020)
Bob Publicover (Vestry Term ends: 2020)
Teri Stephens (Term ends: 2021)
Lynne Yurosko (Term ends: 2022)

%d bloggers like this: